From left: Mr Jenkins Alumina, Vice President, Association of Advertising Agencies of Nigeria (AAAN); Dr. Lekan Fadolapo, Registrar/CEO, Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria (APCON); Minister of Information, Alhaji Lai Mohammed; and Mr. Steve Babaeko, President, AAAN, at a meeting with the Minister in Lagos on Friday.

The Association of Advertising Agencies of Nigeria (AAAN) h as secured the endorsement of the Ministry of Information and Culture for its plan to launch a national unity campaign on 1 October. This was disclosed in a release signed by its Publicity Secretary, Mrs. Temitope Jemerigbe.
Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai According to the release, the endorsement was given in Lagos yesterday by the Minister of Information, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, during a meeting with AAAN’s Executive Board.
The release quoted AAAN President, Mr. Steve Babaeko, as saying that the purpose of the meeting was to push for better cooperation with the ministry. He also noted that the decision to launch the national unity campaign was informed by the current situation in the country.
Responding, Mohammed described the proposed campaign as a very “very patriotic move”.
“What has really impressed me most today is your readiness to partner
with the Federal Government to actually run a campaign on national
unity. I think this is a very patriotic move, we commend it and we are
very eager to partner with you.
“We must resist the temptation of some very selfish elite, who are
giving the impression that Nigerians will not want to stay as a nation,” he said.
Babaeko commended the Federal Government over the appointment of Dr
Olalekan Fadolapo as the Registrar and Chief Executive Officer of the
Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria (APCON), saying he came
to the job with a huge wealth of experience from the industry and that
his appointment will further strengthen the relationship between the
government and the advertising industry.
The Minister was accompanied to the meeting by
Dr. Fadolapo; as well as the Directors-General of the Nigerian
Television Authority and the National Broadcasting Commission, Mallam
Yakubu Ibn Mohammed and Mallam Balarabe Shehu Ilelah, respectively.